The Best Brussels Sprouts You’ll Ever Eat

22 Sep

as much as I love food, vegetables & I have just never really gotten along. So as I test out this adult thing, I’m constantly looking for way to make vegetables more appealing.

I’d always seen recipes for balsamic glazed Brussels sprouts and Brussels sprouts with pancetta, so I’d figure I’d combine all of the above and come up with the best sprouts you’ll ever taste.brussels3Well, in my humble opinion at least.

 

What You Need:

1 lb Brussels sprouts

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup diced pancetta(or uncooked bacon if you can’t find pancetta)

1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion

1 tspn garlic powder

salt

cracked black pepper

**for the vegetarians/vegans out there, feel free to leave out the pancetta and I promise the dish will be just as tasty!

 

How To:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Blanch the Brussels sprouts in a pot of boiling water for 4-5 minutes or until they turn darker green in color. For me, blanching is a must; it helps to achieve that perfect texture once the sprouts are roasted. Strain them and when they are cool enough to handle, half them and place them on a flat sheet pan. brusselsbrussels1Add the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, pancetta(or uncooked bacon), red onion, salt, pepper & garlic to the pan with the Brussels sprouts and use your hands to mix them all together. You want to make sure all of the sprouts are nicely coated.

Pop them in the preheated oven and roast for 25-30 minutes. The main goal here is to get the sprouts good and caramelized from the balsamic vinegar and to good the pancetta. brussels5Once they come out of the oven, feel free to drizzle with a touch more of the balsamic. And take it from me, this dish is best served warm.

These sprouts are amazingly good. The slight tang of the balsamic with the saltiness of the pancetta perfectly compliment the veggie earthiness of the actual Brussels sprouts.

And the best part? As the sprouts roast there are tiny leaves that will naturally fall astray and become crispy roasted, toasted treats– they’re like Brussels sprout chips!

So the next time the kids or your honey start complaining about veggies, make this recipe. I’m preeeetty sure they’ll change their tune.

brussels2 brussels4@LifeandDimSum

Leave a comment