Lambs & Clams at Rappahannock Oyster Bar

15 Mar

Earlier this week I headed to Union Market to test out my 3rd of 40 Washington Post Essential Eats!unionn

This time my sights were set on the lambs & clams at Rappahannock Oyster Bar.rapparappa1

I’ll admit that as much of a foodie as I think I am, I’ve never had clams. Or oysters for that matter. My mom is allergic to both, so I never grew up eating them. And for that reason, this dish is the only one on the list that made me a little nervous. While I waited for my dish, I took in the sightsrappa2and calmed my foodie nerves. I love that you can see right into the kitchen area and watch fresh oysters, from local suppliers being shucked right before your eyes.

As my plate arrived, I knew I was in for a treat.

rappa3I think you all need a close-up.

rappa4 The ground lamb and clams are served with sofrito(a savory sauce made from onions, garlic, tomatoes and peppers), shell beans and aoli. You truly have to eat every element in one bite on top of the crusty, buttery bread that’s served with it. O-M-G! That bite was SO nomaliscious. It may be the fact that I don’t love clams(yeah I know I just met them) but the star of this dish for me was the sauce. I literally used the bread to sop it up! Hey it’s the only thing that kept me from licking the bowl!rappa5Are the lambs & clams at Rappahhannock an essential eat? Absolutely! This hearty dish is just the thing to fill you up and take the chill off this lingering wintry weather.
Rappahannock Oyster Bar on Urbanspoon

@LifeandDimSum

Leave a comment