Kimchi Ramen at Toki Underground

28 Aug

Just because I’m not living in DC anymore, that doesn’t mean I forgot about my 40 eats challenge! It may take me a little longer but I’m still committed to trying every single one.

The adventure continues with the kimchi ramen at Toki Underground.

Toki Undergound is a quaint(see also, small) ramen house located on H St.  in the buzzing Atlas district. Considering the horror stories I’ve heard about the wait time at this place, I was pleasantly surprised to be seated upon arrival.

tokiThe decor reminds you of being in a boat house docked in a little Japanese river town(not that I’ve ever been to one, but this is what I imagine the aesthetic to be like).toki4 toki5 toki1

On to the meal, I was there for the ramen but being a dumpling lover, I couldn’t pass up trying the pan-fried seafood dumplings.toki3

As expected they were delicious little pockets of goodness. They were perfectly cooked and the tangy sauce married nicely with the seafood flavor.  I don’t think I’ve ever met a dumpling that I didn’t like, so I may be a little biased.

Now the pièce de résistance: the kimchi ramen.toki6I’m admittedly not a cabbage lover, I actually kinda sorta hate it, so I was hesitant to go for the kimchi. Boy am I glad that I made that choice.

If I were to describe the ramen in 1 word, it would be “home”.

The flavor was robust. The pork was soft and flavorful. Every component was heard; from the ginger to the nori without being overwhelming. If you don’t like spicy food, I probably wouldn’t recommend this one unless you’re feeling like being adventurous.

It wasn’t crazy spicy but that kimchi kick is certainly there. I actually had a bit of kimchi infused broth go down the wrong pipe while talking and it brought me to tears and rendered me speechless for at least 5 minutes lol.

And even with that said, I’d eat definitely go back for more!

If you’re in the mood for novelty, I’d also try the Ramune Marble Soda. The bubblegum taste and marble action will have you feeling like a kid again.toki2

Is the kimchi ramen at Toki Underground a essential eat? Absolutely!

@LifeandDimSum

Toki Underground on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

